Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Presidential Candidates for 2010 Philippines National Election

And then there were 8 presidential candidates

Comelec lets Estrada run, drops Perlas

By Kristine L. Alave, Edson C. Tandoc Jr.
Philippine Daily Inquirer
First Posted 01:51:00 12/16/2009

MANILA, Philippines—Eight, 8 and 158.

These are the numbers of certificates of candidacy (CoCs) for president, vice president and senator, respectively, that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has initially approved for the national elections in May.

These figures were trimmed from the 99 presidential aspirants, 20 vice presidential hopefuls and 158 senatorial wannabes who filed CoCs from Nov. 20 to Dec. 1.

Comelec Chair Jose Melo Tuesday identified those running for president as follows: Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III (Liberal Party), JC de los Reyes (Ang Kapatiran) and former President Joseph Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino).

Sen. Richard Gordon (Bagumbayan), Sen. Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal (Independent), former Defense Secretary Gilbert “Gibo” Teodoro (Lakas-Kampi-CMD), Bro. Eddie Villanueva (Bangon Pilipinas) and Sen. Manuel Villar (Nacionalista Party).

That the Comelec excluded some people—including environmentalist Nicanor Perlas, who filed a CoC for president as an independent, and gay activist Danton Remoto, who filed a CoC for senator also as independent candidate—did not mean that they were nuisance candidates.

Melo said the poll body did not approve the CoCs of other people because it appeared that they did not have the capacity and resources to launch a national campaign, one of the requirements mandated by the Comelec.

The short-listed candidates for vice president are Makati City Mayor Jejomar Binay (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino), Dominador Chipeco (Ang Kapatiran) and Bayani Fernando (Bagumbayan).

Sen. Loren Legarda (Nationalist People’s Coalition), actor Edu Manzano (Lakas-Kampi-CMD), Sen. Manuel “Mar” Roxas II (Liberal Party), broadcaster Jay Sonza (Kilusang Bagong Lipunan) and former Securities and Exchange Commission Chair Perfecto Yasay Jr. (Bangon Pilipinas).

Read the full Story on

1 comment:

mayorramonguico said...

Oh' so these are the candidates? Well, thanks for sharing this post. I am well informed. Keep posting!


PayPal Its Free Sign-up Now!!!

Sign up for PayPal and start accepting credit card payments instantly.